|Your Visit||About the Museum||Collection||Special Events||News||Groups & Parties||Get Involved|
Rails to the Darkside
Friday 10/7, 10/14, 10/21, and 10/28 7 pm - 9:30 pm
Saturday 10/8, 10/15, 10/22, 10/29 7 pm - 9:30 pm
Cost: Adult (16 and older) $17.00
NOT RECOMMENDED FOR CHILDREN
HISTORY OF RAILS TO THE DARKSIDE
The museum is founded on the roadbed of the Old Hartford and Springfield Street Railway branch line that ran from Warehouse Point to Rockville.
When the line was constructed in 1905, a small cemetery was moved to make way for the Trolley Line. This cemetery was located in the present location of the museum's Newberry siding.
The decision was made and the cemetery was purportedly moved to a location not far from the trolley line on a dry piece of land close to the dirt road that would eventually become Route 140. The cemetery after the move was always a bone chilling place and the locals soon abandoned the upkeep of the cemetery and nature reclaimed her own.
When the museum was established in 1940, the land was available and purchased at a low price. Only recently during the construction of the visitor center was the old cemetery discovered hidden in the woods. The gravestones were found, but it was discovered that there were no coffins or bodies under the gravestones. The gravestones were moved, but the coffins and bodies never were.
Now during the dark nights, the mournful cries of the abandoned dead are heard in the woods of East Windsor along the tracks of the museum.
Come and experience Rails to the Darkside,
Copyright 2017 Connecticut Electric Railway Association, Inc. All rights reserved.